Session Chairs

Mr Bashar Bata
Bashar is the current fellow in oculoplastics and ocular oncology at Sheffield Teaching Hospitals. He also completed fellowship training in Paediatric Ophthalmology and Adult Strabismus at Mayo Clinic (USA) and The Hospital for Sick Children (Canada).
Mr Vikas Chadha
Vikas trained in New Delhi, Edinburgh and Glasgow and has been Consultant in the West of Scotland for the last 10 years. He is now one of the two Consultants responsible for delivering the Scottish Ophthalmic Oncology Service and providing Orbital Surgery services for Scotland. He is also Clinical Lead for Ophthalmology at the Tennent Institute of Ophthalmology in Glasgow.

Ms Lucy Clark
Lucy is currently working at Newcastle eye centre, head of the eye emergency department and clinical lead for Oculoplastics Service.

Ms Anne Cook
Anne was appointed as Consultant Oculoplastic and Orbital Surgeon at Manchester Royal Eye Hospital in 2005. She set up the North West multi-disciplinary Thyroid Eye Disease Service, and is the Lead for the Manchester Oculoplastic Fellowship.

Mrs Anjana Haridas
Anjana is Consultant Ophthalmologist at the Cardiff Eye Unit, University Hospital of Wales and Bridgend Eye Unit, Princess of Wales Hospital. Her areas of interest include periocular cancer, thyroid eye disease, paediatric oculoplastics and multi-disciplinary orbital work.

Mr Gordon Hay
Gordon has worked in Emergency Ophthalmology and Ocular Oncology for 19 years.
He has worked at Moorfields Eye Hospital since 2015, specialising in Emergency Ophthalmology and Ocular Oncology. Gordon is the Clinical Director for A&E and Urgent Care Services.

Ms Dimitra Portaliou
Dimitra has worked at Bascom Palmer Eye Institute, Miami, at St. James Hospital, Leeds, and at Guy’s and St. Thomas’ Hospital, London. She was recently appointed Consultant at Sheffield Teaching Hospitals.

Mr Sachin Salvi
Sachin is a Consultant Ophthalmologist specializing in Ocular Oncology and Adnexal surgery at Royal Hallamshire Hospital, Sheffield, and is the MDT and research lead at the National Sheffield Ocular Oncology Service.

Ms Katherine Sears
Katharine has worked in the Sheffield ocular-oncology team as a speciality doctor since 2007. As well as ocular oncology, Katharine is also a part of the uveitis service in Sheffield.

Mrs Judith West
Judith is an Associate Specialist in Ophthalmology specialising in Oculoplastics and Cataract surgery. She has worked in Sheffield for the last 20 years and previously worked in Ayr, Cardiff, Melbourne (Australia) and Moorfields.

Abstract Review Team

Mr Amit Arora
Amit is Senior Specialist in Ocular Oncology and Honorary Consultant, Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Foundation Trust and Barts Health NHS Trust.

Mr Tom Fearnley
Tom is a Consultant Ophthalmologist working in York. He undertook fellowships in oculoplastics, orbits and ocular oncology in Sheffield and Sydney, and maintains an interest in these areas.

Mr Ben While
Ben is a Consultant Ophthalmologist in Hereford. His main interest is in taking specialist training and seeing how it can be used to deliver services to his rural community. Particularly in the field of periocular and ocular surface tumours.


Ms Rhona Jacques
Rhona has both an ophthalmic and oncology nursing background with a First Class BA Hons Degree in Supportive and Palliative Care. She is the only ocular oncology Macmillan Nurse in the UK and has provided supportive care to both the patient and their families for the past 24 years at the Sheffield National Eye Cancer Centre.

Core Organising Team

Mr Sachin Salvi
Conference Director

Ms Linzi McLean

Ms Melanie Froggatt

Dr Ruth Jones
Ruth is an ST5 ophthalmic trainee, currently rotating around hospitals in the South Yorkshire deanery.

Mr Tom Evans